Welcome to the AAAE Aviation News web site.
Select aviation stories are posted below. Please subscribe to
Aviation News Today to have all stories emailed to you each night.

RFPs/Biz Ops
Job Bank
About Us
Contact Us

Airport Magazine

ACRP Announces Winners of Airport Design Competition

top story photo The Airport Cooperative Research Program (ACRP), part of the Transportation Research Board, has announced the winners of its University Design Competition for Addressing Airport Needs.

The competition encourages students to design innovative and practical solutions to challenges at our nation's airports. Teams of students from the Florida Institute of Technology, University of Rhode Island, and Purdue University took home first place prizes in different technical challenge areas.

The winners are:

  • A graduate team from the College of Aeronautics at the Florida Institute of Technology designed a system using LIDAR and pressure plates to alert air traffic controllers of impending runway incursions. They took first place in the Runway Safety/Runway Incursions/Runway Excursions challenge area. Deborah Carstens was the faculty adviser.
  • A University of Rhode Island undergraduate team from the department of mechanical, industrial, and systems engineering submitted "Eagle Eye," a drone-based inspection system to automate aspects of daily airfield inspections. The team won first place in the Airport Management and Planning challenge area. Bahram Nassersharif was the faculty adviser.
  • A team of Purdue University students in the School of Aviation and Transportation Technology came up with a design for using smart technologies to monitor airport aprons, which are the areas around passenger loading and unloading gates. The group placed first in the Airport Operation and Maintenance challenge area. Mary Johnson was the faculty adviser.

The names of all winners and copies of designs receiving first and second place awards are available at the competition website. New guidelines for the 2018-2019 academic year competition will be available on the competition website by August 1.

 © 2019 AAAE